Image provided by: Joseph Moore
The beginnings of a great town
Learn more about how a humble settlement in 1863 came to be what is now Pineville, West Virginia.
Pineville’s history, as told by town-storyteller “Bugs” Stover
In 1863, Hiram Clay settled near what became Pineville. Initially, the town was called Castle Rock after the Giant Sandstone cliff that stands at the confluence of Rock Castle Creek and the Guyandotte River, where downtown Pineville is now located. The town discovered that another town was already named Castle Rock, leading them to change the town’s name to Pineville. The pine forest that covered much of what is now Pineville inspired the new name. In 1907, Pineville finally won a countywide election against Oceana, which had been the county’s first county seat. Pineville was slow to start building the courthouse and became embroiled with the new railroad town of Mullens in an election battle to move the seat of government once again. Pineville won this election and finished building a magnificent courthouse building in 1917. Pineville is nestled deep in the mountains of southern West Virginia, where the Guyandotte River is joined by two tributary streams, Rock Castle Creek and Pinnacle Creek. Approximately 600 people live within the city limits.